Saturday, April 20, 2024


Members Named on ReOpen Westport Advisory Team

First Selectman Jim Marpe today provided additional details on the establishment of the ReOpen Westport Advisory Team (Advisory Team).

As previously stated, the purpose of the Advisory Team will be to advise the first selectman on issues relating to the reopening of the Westport economy and community as they navigate the risks of COVID-19 for the foreseeable future.

The members of the Advisory Team include: Jennifer Tooker, Second Selectwoman – chair; John Bayers, director of human resources & general administration – Westport Public Schools; Mark Cooper, director – Westport Weston Health District;  Jen Fava, Parks and Recreation director; Sara Harris, operations director; Police Chief Foti Koskinas; Mary Young, Planning and Zoning director; Randy Herbertson, president – Westport Downtown Merchants Association; Matthew Mandell, director – Westport / Weston Chamber of Commerce, and Brian Stern, chair – Board of Finance.

The Advisory Team will be focused on working with the local business community. It is not charged with making regulatory decisions.

Westport will generally follow the guidelines issued by the Reopen Connecticut Advisory Group and Governor Lamont. However, there will likely be operational issues that will arise with our local business owners through this gradual reopening phase.

The Advisory Team will seek feedback from them and assist in their understanding of the guidelines as the businesses transition through this uncertain period.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *