Wednesday, July 17, 2024


WestportNow Wins 14 Citations in Statewide Journalism Competition

WestportNow has won 14 citations, including three first place awards, in the Society of Professional Journalists Connecticut chapter annual Excellence in Journalism competition. Image
This photo of a deer eating flowers outside of Westport Police Headquarters won first place in the feature photo category for Helen Klisser During.  (CLICK TO ENLARGE) Helen Klisser During for

In place of its annual dinner, the 2019 awards were announced during a CTSPJ virtual ceremony. See the complete list HERE.

WestportNow competed against both online and print organizations in the “hyperlocal” category, which included news organizations covering one or several communities or having a limited coverage area.

The three first place awards were all in photo categories, including news photo (Gordon Joseloff) feature photo (Helen Klisser During), and sports photo (Chris Greer.)

James Lomuscio won five second place awards and two third place awards; J.C. Martin won a second place award (photo) while third place awards went to Joseloff and Dave Matlow; Joseloff, and Jarret Liotta.

The competition, which attracted more than 800 entries, was judged by journalists in Utah in exchange for journalists in Connecticut judging their competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *