Sunday, March 03, 2024


Community Thanksgiving Feast is Thursday

The Saugatuck Congregational Church will host its annual Community Thanksgiving Feast on Thursday at 1 p.m. at the church.

The feast, which is sponsored by the church’s Mission Board, attracts more than 300 people from the community each year.

The Westport Community Band and the Alan Abel Jazz Band will provide entertainment.

For more information, call (203) 227-1261.

Residents Discuss Development Issues

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Westport residents tonight had the opportunity to comment on a number of development issues facing the town in the latest public session on the update to the Town Plan of Conservation and Development.

Working in groups, about 65 residents discussed issues facing the downtown area, the Post Road, the Saugatuck area, and the town’s housing needs.

It was the third such session in which residents had the opportunity to comment on issues to be included in the town plan update.

Glenn Chalder, head of the Avon, Conn.-based Planimetrics consultant firm hired to help the Planning and Zoning Commission complete the town plan, said many of the ideas expressed were ideas he had already.

Playhouse Announces 2007 Season Selections

The Westport Country Playhouse has announced the productions for the 2007 season, including two musicals, two comedies, a world premiere drama, a thriller and a love story, from April through October.

Artistic director Tazewell Thompson will host a preview of the seven-play subscription series on Tuesday, Dec. 5 at 6 p.m., at the Playhouse for current and potential subscribers.

Kicking off the theater’s 77th season on April 10 through April 28 will be the new John Kander and Fred Ebb musical, “All About Us,” based on the Pulitzer Prize-winning play, “The Skin of Our Teeth” by Thornton Wilder, with book by Joseph Stein.

Kander and Ebb wrote the award-winning Broadway shows “Cabaret” and “Chicago” while Stein is author of “Fiddler on the Roof.”

Westport Wins State “Democracy Cup” for Voter Turnout

For the second time in six years, Westport has won the state’s “Democracy Cup” for the highest voter turnout among Connecticut medium-size communities.

Secretary of the State Susan Bysiewicz made the announcement today in Hartford.

Joining Westport in winning the honor for the best voter turnout on Election Day were Union for small towns and West Hartford for larger-sized towns.

Union, a first-time winner, won with a voter turnout of 78.8 percent, Westport won for the second time with a turnout of 72.7 percent, and West Hartford won for the fifth time with a turnout of 69.4 percent. 

Staples Players Receive Moss Hart Award Image
Staples Players director David Roth (c) displays the 2006 Moss Hart Award Trophy after the final performance of “The Wiz” last weekend at Staples. Hours earlier, Roth and associate director Kerry Long accepted the trophy—awarded for theater excellence—at a ceremony in New Haven sponsored by the New England Theatre Conference.  The Players earned an award for secondary school production for its performance of “The Diary of Anne Frank” last spring, but it also won the overall award, which includes entries from professional, community, collegiate and other school organizations throughout New England.  The engraved trophy with remain at Staples for one year. (CLICK TO ENLARGE) Contributed photo

Affordable Housing Topic of Westport Conversations

By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

For a variety of reasons affordable housing has been a topic of conversation over the last few months in Westport.

It was a topic of great interest at the first public meeting about the update for the Town Plan of Conservation and Development, and the Planning and Zoning Commission is currently considering an affordable housing application for the Gorham Avenue Historic District.

Now in December, First Selectman Gordon Joseloff is planning a summit on affordable housing in Westport.

The summit is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 12 at 7:30 p.m. at Town Hall and will include experts on affordable housing.