Sunday, July 21, 2024


Media Reps Turn Out in Numbers, Too

Media representatives were out in numbers today at Coleytown Middle School as Democratic Westport First Selectwoman Diane G. Farrell voted with husband Win. An Associated Press photographer catches the scene as they talk to New Haven’s WTNH-TV, Channel 8. Cablevision News-12 was there, too, along with a reporter from New York’s WCBS Radio. (CLICK TO ENLARGE) photo

Westport Voting: The Facts

Poll Hours: Polls are open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Polling Places:  Coleytown Middle School, Greens Farms Elementary School, Kings Highway Elementary School, Long Lots Elementary School, Saugatuck Elementary School

Absentee/Presidential Ballots: Absentee and presidential ballots must be returned to the Town Clerk’s office by the time polls close at 8 p.m.

You May Write in a Candidate: At each polling station, voters may look at a list of write-in candidates. Write-in candidates must register with the Secretary of the State’s Office. Votes for write-in candidates who have not registered will not count.

Voting Machines: All Connecticut polling centers use mechanical lever machines. Westport is one of six towns that will use optical scanners for absentee ballots.

Questions?: For voter information, the Registrars’ Office, 341-1115, the Town Clerk’s Office, 341-1110, and the Secretary of the State’s Office (860) 509-6100. Voting problems should be reported to the state Election Enforcement Commission at (860) 566-1776.