Sunday, July 14, 2024


Westport Property Transfers June 1-4, 2004

Property transfers as reported by the Town Clerk’s office for the period June 1-4, 2004:

Brett H. and Jennifer L. Dennett to Robert J. Halderman, 6 Renzulli Road 8.54 percent Westport, $420,000.WN property.jpg

Lisa Clyne to David J. Schaefer, 104 Newtown Turnpike, $765,000.10patricklane260.jpg
10 Partrick Lane: sold for $900,000. (CLICK TO ENLARGE) Dave Matlow for

Amy M. Chan and Ka-Bun Lam to Elena and Philip Mironova, 26 Crescent Park Road, $332,000.

Mark A. and Ann Tegen Hill to Scott Lavina Ind & Trust, 12 & 6 Cockenoe Drive, $2,400,000.

Elaine S. Horelik to David D. Squires, 20 Cross St., $225,500.

Lena Rodino to Carol S. Weissenberg, 241 Sturges Highway, $679,100.

Board of Ed Televises Start Time Hearing

Staples senior Robert Sobleman, 18, addresses the Westport Board of Education tonight on the issue of school start times. He said he has seen no evidence that a later start time produces more sleep for students. The photo is from a live telecast of the two-hour session, the first televised Board of Education meeting in a decade. photo

Westport Area Air Quality Unhealthy

The orange around Westport and nearby areas of southwest Connecticut indicates an unhealthy air quality due to elevated concentrations of ground-level ozone levels as of 5 p.m. today. The Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency predict similar unhealthy levels Wednesday. More information is available here. EPA graphic

Westport’s Cygnus Business Media Names Ken Fisher CFO

Westport’s Cygnus Business Media, one of the nation’s leading business-to-business media companies, announced today that Ken Fisher has been appointed chief financial officer (CFO).

Fisher will report directly to the company’s president and CEO Paul Mackler and be based at its Westport headquarters at 830 Post Road East.

He fills the vacancy created by Carl Fazio who will assist in the transition, then assume his new responsibilities as CFO and Chief Operating Officer (COO) of The Daily Racing Form.

“Ken’s broad B2B media experience, strong financial and systems expertise and business savvy are important assets that he brings to Cygnus,” said Mackler.

Westport Annual Meeing Set for June 14

First Selectwoman Diane G. Farrell has announced that Westport’s annual meeting will be held Monday, June 14 on Veterans Green from 4 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. The meeting is required by the Town Charter.

Members of boards and commissions, volunteers, and Westport residents are invited to attend, Farrell said in a statement issued by her office.  In case of rain, the meeting will be held in the Town Hall lobby.

Farrell will present a brief 2003-2004 annual report and also present the 2004 TEAM Westport Community Leadership Award on behalf of the Town of Westport and the TEAM Westport Committee. 

TEAM is short for Together Effectively Achieving Multiculturalism.

Also on the agenda will be recognition of students who have participated in the Kids Connected program, Farrell said.  Light refreshments will be served.

Hot Ticket for Fireworks

Westport’s Independence Day fireworks display July 2 at Compo Beach is a hot ticket. Clara Grucci of the famed fireworks family which will produce the display presents ticket No. 1 to Dave Friezo of Lydian Assset Management (LAM) of Westport, the premiere sponsor of the Police Athletic League (PAL) event. Looking on are (l-r) Chief Al Fiore, Buck Iannacone (PAL), Ken Goldberg, Jim Oakley, Dave Friezo and Andrzej Rojek (all of LAM), Grucci, Bill Krause (PAL), Scott Cooper (Grucci), Officer Ned Batlin and Rick Benson (fireworks committee). Tickets are on sale for $25 per car at the Parks and Recreation Dept. and at police headquarters. The price increases to $30 after June 14. (CLICK TO ENLARGE)  Contributed photo

Tuesday, June 8, 2004

6:30 p.m. – Staples High School, Room 516 – Board of Education anticipated executive session
7 p.m. – Town Hall Room 309 – Historic District Commission
7:30 p.m. – Staples High School Library – Board of Education public hearing for members of SHS community on school start time (cable coverage channel 78)
7:30 p.m. – Town Hall Auditorium – Zoning Board of Appeals
7:30 p.m. – Town Hall Room 201 – Architectural Review Board

They Will be Missed

The Westport Board of Education tonight held a reception to honor retiring teachers, administrators, and school staff in the district. Shown here are back row, (l-r):  Ann Reeves, Christine Cimino, Elliot Kraut, Ken Hanson, and James Welsch. Front row (l-r): Carol Muller, Antoinette Gombeda, Joyce Campbell, Connie Miller, and Grace Welsch. Missing are Arlene Johnson, Barbara Hauer, Bruce McFadden, Britta Nilsson, Richard Rollins, Linval Sinclair, and Barbara Sands. (CLICK TO ENLARGE) photo